Posting Images and resizing

lumen8

Moderator
Staff member
Posts
1,438
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Reaction score
1,855
Points
113
At the moment image upload is turned off here, so images have to be hosted elsewhere.

Put the image URL between img tags to get them to show here, like this....

Code:
[img]Put Image URL Here[/img]
This forum also has the option of resizing the image to the width of your choice. When you specify the image width, the image height will auto adjust so the image retains its original width/height ratio.

The custom BB code for resizing the image is imgsize , place your image URL between imgsize brackets, as per the following example. The 500 number can be changed to whatever width you would like the image to display in your post...

Code:
[imgsize=500]Put Image URL Here[/imgsize]
 
  • Like
Reactions: VTR

R2the7

Junior Member
Posts
299
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Reaction score
457
Points
63
powers that be need to make it simple.......please allow copy/paste pictures
 
  • Like
Reactions: VTR

lumen8

Moderator
Staff member
Posts
1,438
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Reaction score
1,855
Points
113
powers that be need to make it simple.......please allow copy/paste pictures
The downside with that is it begins to use large amounts of disc space as the images pile up, which is why I have it off. When the images are hosted elsewhere, that disc space use is on their end not ours, wherever they are hosted.

Dont have a massive amount of hosting space, and forum posts take up virtually nothing versus images, thats the technical reason, figured id explain why its off.

It is morning here and I have work but later my time i'll turn that feature on and we'll see how much the disc space requirement grows over time, and go from there.
 

lumen8

Moderator
Staff member
Posts
1,438
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Reaction score
1,855
Points
113
OK it should be turned on now Rosie. I cut and pasted this pic below right into the browser. The image icon in the BB code above the post reply box, and the 'attach files' button below it, can also be used to upload pics.

1596606558890.png
 

R2the7

Junior Member
Posts
299
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Reaction score
457
Points
63
thank you..... I did not realize the reasoning behind it; if it's problematic, change it back.....I'm sure it can't be that hard to do it the other way
 

lumen8

Moderator
Staff member
Posts
1,438
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Reaction score
1,855
Points
113
thank you..... I did not realize the reasoning behind it; if it's problematic, change it back.....I'm sure it can't be that hard to do it the other way
Sure I can change it back easily, but tell you what, i'll leave it as it is for now so we can get pics up easier.

I'll monitor the disc space getting used by the images, and If I see the images begin to take up massive amounts of disc space I can revisit.

If I turn it off again, it doesnt delete all the images people uploaded, it wont mess existing posts up... the images stay on this server.
 

Vamodsquad

Junior Member
Posts
132
Joined
Jan 14, 2021
Reaction score
121
Points
43
Having trouble posting a picture in the Boat section. What am I doing wrong ?
 

lumen8

Moderator
Staff member
Posts
1,438
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Reaction score
1,855
Points
113
Having trouble posting a picture in the Boat section. What am I doing wrong ?

What is happening exactly?

BTW, I know people make jokes on YB about the boat section, but we actually have one here... so im taking your post at face value. :fluffy:
 

xxdabroxx

Junior Member
Posts
24
Joined
Jul 7, 2021
Reaction score
23
Points
3
Is there a minimum post count to attach a photo or am I just retarded? Or is Firefox for ipad fucked?
 

lumen8

Moderator
Staff member
Posts
1,438
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Reaction score
1,855
Points
113
Is there a minimum post count to attach a photo or am I just retarded? Or is Firefox for ipad fucked?
No minimum post count, if its not working then its something else, yes could be the browser.

What happens exactly when you try?
 

xxdabroxx

Junior Member
Posts
24
Joined
Jul 7, 2021
Reaction score
23
Points
3
All that shows up when I click the image button (next to the link and before the smiley) is the link box shows up and insert. No option to attach. also can’t paste an image from the clipboard.

I’d post a screen shot but I can’t! Lol
 

lumen8

Moderator
Staff member
Posts
1,438
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Reaction score
1,855
Points
113
does it have the 'drop image' writing showing once you press the image button, i mean this...

image-button-pb.png

If that shows you that ^ , click on the box again where it says Drop image (or click here) ... and then it should give option to attach.
 

xxdabroxx

Junior Member
Posts
24
Joined
Jul 7, 2021
Reaction score
23
Points
3
Nope, just tried another browser on the POS iPad. Must be an apple thing. Just has a text box.
 

xxdabroxx

Junior Member
Posts
24
Joined
Jul 7, 2021
Reaction score
23
Points
3
Shows up just like your screenshot on my Samsung phone though.
Screenshot_20210719-182217_Samsung Internet.jpg

20210719_182335.jpg
 

lumen8

Moderator
Staff member
Posts
1,438
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Reaction score
1,855
Points
113
I cant find anything wrong in the settings so it must be something to do with the ipad or the code on the forum end.

Have you tried it in default/light mode by any chance?
 
Top